Letting your voice be heard!

JD Austin wins Betty & Bob Gillis Youth Leadership Award

The Betty Gillis Youth Leadership Award was established in honor of Betty Gillis following her death (1995) in recognition of her work through Youth Leadership with the Youth of Tucson.  

Betty was a longtime member of District 3. She joined the Eyeopeners in Tucson in 1976 and Catalina club in 1990. During the 1980's, Betty was an Area and Division Governor and achieved her Distinguished Toastmaster award.

She and her husband, Bob (a past Division Governor), were very active in youth leadership and helped influence many other Toastmasters to get involved with the Youth Leadership Toastmasters Program. Bob and Betty were always present at District 3 Conferences, even as their health began to decline.

In recognition of those who have shown excellent dedication to the Youth Leadership program:

2011-2012 JD Austin, DTM
2010-2011 Mike Zakis, DTM
2009-2010  Liz Shaw, DTM
2008 - 2009 Mukund Moorthy, DTM
2005 - 2006 Bobbie O'Connell, DTM
2004 - 2005 Michael DiCerbo, DTM
2001 - 2002 Caroleen Hitchens, DTM
2000 - 2001 Leonard Knight, DTM
1999 - 2000 Stan Walters, DTM
1998 - 1999 Caroleen Hitchens, DTM
1997 - 1998 Paul Knutson, ATM
1996 - 1997 Robert Wagner, DTM
1995 - 1996 Mike DiCerbo, DTM
1994 - 1995 Liz Bebo, DTM


Fatal error: Class 'FeedsHTTPCache' not found in /home4/jdaustin/public_html/echoestoastmasters.org/sites/all/modules/feeds/feeds.module on line 82